Reload Desktop Background via Command line

Running Ubuntu 19.04 MATE. I have a problem trying to rotate the screen with a script. It's that the background doesn't fully reset to the new orientation. I can fix this by changing (in the GUI) the background to a different one and back again. I've been trying to do this with the script, but I'm quite new to bash scripting and not having much luck. Working through it, I can't help but thinking there might be a command that will simply reload or refresh the background without changing it to a new one? Wondering if anyone knows what it might me? Thanks.

I am trying to understand what you have written here. So bear with me while I try and restate what I think you are saying:

You have manged to write a script with a command to rotate a given picture and then instate it as your desktop backround. However, when the script runs, whilst it instates the background, it does so in a way that "does not fully reset to the new orientation". You fix this by changing to another background and then back to the one you want in the GUI.

My first question is what do you mean, precisely by "does not fully reset to the new orientation". Do you mean it does not change the orientation at all?

My second question is have you tried incorporating into the script the temporary change to the new background and then back to the one you want?

In other words, the scripts contents would go something like:

change the orientation of picture A
change desktop wallpaper to picture A
change desktop wallpaper to picture B
change desktop wallpaper to picture A

Sounds more like an xrandr screen rotation thing than just the image. The image seems to not update with the screen rotation?

Try killall caja, it should restart your desktop and reorient the background. Not a great solution, but the easiest.