Restore saved Panel Layout

Hi! I decided to save my panel layout considering that I had taken a lot of time to set it up perfectly. Then, I wanted to test how Compiz handled the different layouts so I tried different layouts in the Mate Tweak Interface menu. I quickly realized that all my icons and configurations I had before had disappeared completely, and I guess restored to default.

Now, I can’t seem to find my particular saved layout in the menu. I remember a file location of the saved configuration, but I have no idea how to retrieve it. Can I successfully restore my saved panel layout exactly like it was before, or is there some sacrifice to this solution? How do I do that?

I tried different layouts in the menu and OpenSUSE seemed to resemble what I had somewhat, but it wasn’t even near all the things I had set up. I hope that wasn’t the saved Layout.

Thanks for taking the time to help me out. I’m quite new to Linux.

Hi @J.M, You should find it at /usr/share/mate-panel/layouts and on mine I see 2 files:

(username)-tweak.layout
(username)-tweak.panel

You should have a Custom: (username)-tweak in the selections to get back to it. Replace (username) with yours. Is it missing?

So, I checked the directory and found no such description. No tweak, no username. Only the basic ones are there I guess, and “default” , whatever that is - and that particular one is not in the selections on the Mate tweak user interface list. But that’s irrelevant I guess and it’s lost because I don’t have any of those files you mention. One thing I don’t understand is, when I choose OpenSUSE from the list, my sticky notes comes back, and just a tiny bit of the layout I had before, but it’s not complete at all. Why would it save as OpenSUSE and not as (my username)-tweak?

Btw, I could be more specific and explain how I saved the layout. I simply clicked the button “Save Panel Layout” below the list, in Mate Tweak interface menu as mentioned.

Thanks for your reply.