Saying bye to Debian in general

I am moving permanently to Manjaro MATE, since I am sick and tired of being sick and tired of Canonical, willy-nilly, removing programs from the repos that I need.

I tried to compile GTK2 on 19.04, which I needed, and returned error after error. I'm no coder, and couldn't correct a script error.

Then, I dual-booted with Manjaro MATE. I tried building Aqualung, a gapless music player that I NEED, and it worked like a charm. Installing source code does take longer, but I have a program which is customized for my system.

Sorry, Wimpy. I will contribute monetarily to fund further MATE development, but I'm sick of Canonical.

I have used Manjaro Mate a lot and can offer the the following observation

Good point

A truly enormous repo of applications (the Arch repos) massively bigger than any Debian repo. Also, if you enable the AUR repos, several versions of the same aplications are available.

Bad point

Because it is constantly upgrading on a rolling distro model basis, things can break unexpextedly. This happens much less often than it used to and certainly far less than Vanilla Arch. But, it does still happen more frequently than with any Debian based distro. Also, precisely because you have access to so many application, this allows you to install stuff that is not stable and can break your system in ways that you are given no warning about.

Personally speaking, I like it a lot. But, it is important to be clear about what it is and is not in terms of stability.

5 Likes

I'm well aware of Arch distros, especially Arch itself, being broken with an ill-advised upgrade. It is also true that the Manjaro devs do check out just about all the files they upload to their standard repos. I certainly understand the very real risk problem with the AUR, which is not curated. I, so far, have been fine with the few apps I have installed from the AUR. The most-common apps are pretty safe.