Sharing new UM 16.10 to windows - doesn't

Problem:
I have a Windows 7 workgroup and I want to be able to share files from the Windows system with a ubuntu user and vice versa. Right now, I’d settle for either to work.

My background:
While I used unix systems for years back in the old days, samba is new to me. I have been playing around with various linux systems for the past 5 years on PCs and Raspberries and have written advanced shell scripts and did system configurations but only on machines intended to stand alone and certainly not connected to Windows.

More info:
The ubuntu system doesn’t see any shares from the windows machines and the windows machines do not see the ubuntu machine in the Network view. Once, it actually showed up but only for a short time.

I configured samba with the homegroup name of the win 7 machines. I can ping windows machines from ubuntu and vice versa. I’ve turned off the ubuntu firewall and even the windows firewall all to no effect.

Windows machines have shares between each other working just fine.

I shared my home public directory as a test.

I upgraded today so ubuntu is up-to-date.

If I go into file mgr on ubuntu and select “other locations”, I see “Windows Network”. Opening it gets me “opening smb:///” and it just sits there. Cancel is the only option.

I have not found any info on the net that will help me and don’t even know if this is the best forum for my question.

The samba log files don’t tell me anything I can understand.

Samba is a bit complex but let me suggest … install caja-share, then logout/login again. Create a Pezz folder in your home dir. Right click, sharing options, set the share name and options. It will prompt to setup permissions, accept. Now the folder Pezz has an arrows icon on the top right, indicating sharing.

Restart samba, check it is running … ps -ef | grep mbd (you may have smbd and nmbd)