Should I install Golang 1.8.1 into /usr/local?

I want to install Golang 1.8.1 (the latest version) in UM 16.04 LTS, but the golang package in the repo is several versions behind. The instructions to install Golang tell me to grab the appropriate binary and extract it to /usr/local. Obviously the package manager cannot update, resolve dependencies, or uninstall a local installation like that.

Is it a good idea to circumvent the package manager like this? I’ve been advised not too install things outside the package manager, lest I scatter files all over the system. In this case, though, everything is install into /usr/local/go. To get rid of it I just delete that directory and its contents, then remove it from my PATH.

The other possible way is to find a backport PPA with Golang-1.8.1 for 16.04. I’ve never used a PPA before but it looks simple enough. Is this a better way to do it?

I would definitely suggest using a PPA instead of manually putting stuff into /usr/local/go.

Here is one I found: https://launchpad.net/~jonathonf/+archive/ubuntu/golang-1.8

1 Like

Thanks. Have you used this PPA before? It looks like it is pretty safe (recent updates and all that), but I just want to be careful before I start downloading files from an unknown repo. It looks decent, it’s just that I’ve never downloaded something from elsewhere than the official repos before. ;m;

BTW, what might be some of the drawbacks of manually putting stuff in /usr/local/? Not being able to manage it with apt or apt-get and having to manage dependency issues manually are the first I think of, but are there other issues? I thought it was a bit strange that the Golang instructions told me to manually put stuff in there, since all the Ubuntu docs I’ve seen tell me to avoid circumventing my package manager (like using checkinstall instead of make install when installing from source).

I haven’t used it myself but I use quite some PPAs that are hosted on Launchpad and I never had any problems.