Tell me how to assign a path to a new icon

Hi,
I'm new to Linux & Ubuntu...

I've been using Ubuntu Mate for about a week now & loving it!! Finally, a worthy Windows adversary! (IMO, of course)

Anyway, there are many areas for me to learn. Today I successfully added a new icon to my desktop.I wanted this new icon to open a particular path so that essentially, it would become a short cut, but I couldn't figure out how to assign the icon the path I want it to open..

Can someone clue me in, please???

Do you mean you want to change the icon ?

Show us what you have so far.

I don't know how to show this, but I'll attempt to describe...

I added the icon by right clicking the desktop and then selected 'create folder' then I right clicked the newly created folder/icon and then selected 'rename'

From there, I right clicked the icon again & selected 'properties'. I repeated the properties several times. I was able to change its colors & added an emblem.

I never did see a way to assign this icon a particular path. Whenever I double click it to open it, all I get is a blank window similar to my 'home' folder/icon.

Are you wanting an icon on your destop to open a file manager to a particular folder?

If so do this.

Right click destop
 Create launcher
 In the command section put your path.
And put a name in the name section.

ex. caja /home/andy/Downloads

If I understand you correctly, you have created a folder on your desktop. Then you renamed that folder. Now, you would like to change the folder icon.

Note: Be careful with changing icons. Reason is that once you have changed an icon, it won't be included in case you change the desktop icon set. For example, if you don't like the default icon set and download a new one, if you change to the new icon set, your changed folder will not be updated automatically.