Thank you for an amazing system

I’m still relatively new to linux but out of all 5 different OS, Mate is my favorite. Thank you to all who contribute to the program and to everyone whose been posting their issues. My multiple attempts at understanding issues with, random nights of copying commands from the forums, and the numerous “@#!@#” reinstall are due to your dedication to open source.

Hopefully I can contribute to the feelings of disappear when someone has no idea what a solution means and the eventual pride when the same person finally succeeds and understands what it took 20 people commenting on how to change the color of an icon means.

Thank again.

8 Likes

I do not understand. The comment felt weird in the middle.

If you were sincere in your gratitude, then thanks a bunch. I do stupid stuff that most newbies shouldn’t do but make accessible to newbies, so yeah, don’t follow any of my guides outside of a live session until you’ve gained confidence with poking around in bits of your system.

Speaking of, a live session is invaluable for debugging weird errors, and resolving mistakes you made that were fatal to your system. So like, make backups, learn to use ln and you’ll do fine.

Have you ever heard of a book called ‘Jonathan Livingston Seagull’, by Richard Bach? url: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jonathan_Livingston_Seagull

It’s quite a popular and well known book and it’s not just about learning how to fly, it’s about learning anything worthwhile really.

Your post reminded me how many times I crashed and burned, or trashed an operating system and had to re-install when I first started with gnu-linux.
I eventually got good at backing up and re-installing. I learned that first. But I persisted.
Then after a while I actually got to like doing weird experiments that were right out there in the danger zone, borking my system and having to re-install just to see how far I could go.