The Story of My Linux Journey

I decided that I should write the story of my Linux journey and how I ended up with Ubuntu MATE so here it is.

My family has never really been into technology, except for a short sprint of my dad with computers in the 1980s, there has not been someone who knew anything about computers, operating systems and such. Growing up we used Windows 98 and 95 computers, somehow skipped XP and Vista completely, jumped to a windows 7 laptop and used only XP and 7 at the private school where I attended. To my family there was only different versions of Windows and somewhere for rich people there was something called Mac, but other than that we were all clueless. Coming out of High School I was pretty well clueless about computers, I might not have known what a CPU was if you would have asked me. The Fall after I graduated I got my own first computer for college, it had Windows 8.1 installed which I soon learned to use. My first spring in college my parents computer died and I gave my laptop to them and they bought a ASUS Transformer with Android Kitkat for me, I easily got the hang of that and I used it for the next 2 years during which time I learned many things. The spring semester that I got my Transformer pad was what started me into linux, for I did a report on the Raspberry Pi which I knew nearly nothing about when I started the report. The summer after I was trying to get my Raspberry Pi to actually run Raspbian, as until that point it was just something to look at. A night in the middle of the summer of 2016 about 10 to 11 I finally got Raspbian to boot after multiple attempts and I was overjoyed. However I soon broke Raspbian, I believe by uninstalling the display manager, through the accursed Synaptic Package Manager. I reinstalled Raspbian and went on my merry way until the fall semester when I discovered berryboot, and it was if I remember correctly with berryboot that I first discovered Ubuntu MATE. However either that fall semester o