Ubuntu 22.04.2 LTS still on kernel 5.15 instead of 5.19 [solved]

Hi there,
Its all in the title :wink: Ubuntu .2 is supposed to ship with kernel 5.19 and my up to date ubuntu mate 22.04 says it is still on 5.15 .
I am very interested in the performances for my intel 12th gen .

As I understand the kernel versioning, new installations install with 5.19. Existing installations upgraded stay on 5.15. This is pretty normal for what I've seen on LTS. To take the new track on an existing LTS, you usually install HWE packages (hardware enablement). That tracks the kernel versions (only kernel, not other software) of the regular semi-annual releases. HWE packages usually come about with the X.X.2 LTS release.

If you wanted to only go to 5.19, I suppose you could install HWE packages, and upgrade, then lock the HWE version installed to prevent further kernel upgrades every six months.

Now, I'm not an expert, so I'm writing this in hopes that if wrong, someone will correct my understanding as well.

2 Likes

Hi that is what I found but could not find the existing staying on 5.15.
Just a thought would reinstalling using new .2 version possibly work?

As here:
https://phoenixnap.com/kb/reinstall-ubuntu

Possible down side would have to reinstall programs. I have a calc sheet with all my installed programs and would just have to go down list to reinstall.