Ubuntu MATE 21.10 reaches end of life

As of July 14, 2022 Ubuntu MATE 21.10 has reached EOL (End of Life) and is no longer supported. There will be no more updates or security patches for this release.

Being an interim release, these are only supported for 9 months.

How do I check?

See which version you are running by opening the :monitor: System Monitor and checking the System tab.

Still using 21.10?

The upgrade path will be to the current LTS release, 22.04, supported until April 2025. To upgrade, open :update: Software Updater and follow the steps.

Or alternately, via the :terminal: Terminal:

sudo do-release-upgrade
5 Likes

You made a mistake. It is supposed to be 'The upgrade path will be to the current lts release, 22.04**, supported until April 2025.

1 Like

Thank you so much. I am still relatively new to Linux and coming from Mint, but I like all the configurations with Ubuntu Mate and have been using it lately, with the Pantheon desktop environment.

Why won't it work for me?
How do I fix it?

Screenshot at 2022-06-15 14-40-53

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Hi Josephus,

Be sure to run the updater first

Then try this:

sudo do-release-upgrade -d

TKN, Thanks for your reply.

You mean like this?

sudo apt-get update

before

Thanks again

Hi Josephus,

Almost right :slight_smile:
These are the commands:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
1 Like

Thank you Bill, I'm running MINT 20.3, will this affect me?

You will gather from the request I am not well informed, just a simple user,

Cheers,

Harry.

No, you're fine; you do not need to be concerned.

Linux Mint is never based around Ubuntu MATE, even the MATE Edition of Mint.