Ubuntu Mate commercial usage for college

I am a student at a small Bible college awc.edu and while here I have started working in the IT dept, I am the first to do my job so I am pioneering this position, however to get to the point our library has several computer for students to access the internet on, type papers on, and other such things, however these computers are running windows 7 which is OK, but a little on the heavy end for the specs of the computers, so I was talking to my boss and he said that Ubuntu may be possible and as Ubuntu Mate is what I daily use and can easily be configure to look and act like Windows 7 or close enough, this is what I’m leaning towards , however there are at least 2 things that need to be for this to happen

1. we need to be able to lock out apps such as the control center…, preferably make them invisible, any info on how to do this would be much appreciated

2. on logout or shutdown the computer needs to erase all changes and all files downloaded or otherwise, sort of like the guest user on Ubuntu, so I need to know how to create a user that will do this, even how to create a user like the guest user would be helpful

It depends on how you want to implement UM across your network. If each machine is to have its own installation, then I guess you could simply remove all launchers to the relevant programs. Or, uninstall the programs themselves. I lack the expertise to tell you how to do this at a network level. So, if it was me, I would just manually uninstall programs/remove launchers on each individual machine if there were only several of them.