Ubuntu Mate desktop environment vs real OS

First of all I’m a newbie to Linux.
I recently installed normal Ubuntu 18.04 LTS on my old laptop but It wasn’t performing well enough so I started searching and found that Mate was perfect for me.

I didn’t want to go through the (for me) difficult process of flashing a usb with Mate on it.
Instead i just installed the mate desktop via a simple command and my experience has been great so far.

My question: am I now running Ubuntu Mate or just ubunt with Mate desktop? Is there a difference?
Will this affect performance?

Hi @sowhatdan ,

First of all, :tada: :confetti_ball: Welcome to a great community and a great operating system, you have a good flavour :grin:.
Oh I see @stevecook172001 is already replying to you. I think, he is maybe much better informed than me and can answer your questions to total confidence :smiley:.

Cheers

Mickey :grinning:

1 Like

I am not sure what you mean by “real OS”.

That notwithstanding:

Ubuntu Mate desktop installed from the Ubuntu Mate ISO consists of the Ubuntu underlying base system plus a significantly tweaked Mate desktop over the top of it. Those significant tweaks are what constitute the “Ubuntu Mate” desktop, as opposed to merely the “Mate” desktop.

Ubuntu Mate desktop installed manually over the top of an existing Ubuntu base+desktop system includes all of the above. That is to say, it includes the “Ubuntu Mate” desktop and not merely the standard “Mate” desktop. But, it also includes the Ubuntu standard desktop which, as far as I am aware, is currently Gnome 3.

So, the next question is; are there any differences of performance between the two?

The answer to the above question comes in two parts.