Ubuntu Mate failed to install Broadcom Wireless Adapter

Hi
I am new to Ubuntu Mate. I installed it on my Lenovo S10 Laptop. I was very surprised to find out that the wireless card wasn‘ t recognized and installed. How should I credit Ubuntu when from the very first time it fails?! My wireless Adapter is a Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter. Can the MAC Address ( 00234EE537E3) be useful in finding the driver? Can anyone help a newbie to install the wireless adapter?

Please read this tip concerning Broadcom drivers -

The MAC address is designed to be unique (different on every system) and therefore is not very useful in determining the specifics of what kind of WiFi hardware you have.

Try posting the results of the following two commands instead:

lspci

lsusb

This will help identify the specific wireless chipset so we can find out if there is an updated driver available that will help get your wifi working.

Sorry you ran into this issue, but unfortunately, the PC market has recently been flooded with lots of flaky poorly documented combo WiFi/Bluetooth hardware chipsets which work like crap in Linux (and often in Windowz as well) and Broadcom is one of the WORST offenders.

This situation has regressed Linux by about a decade and a half back to the point where, if you want your WiFi and Bluetooth to work properly, you really need to check to make sure that the fancy new laptop or netbook you are considering has good Linux driver support BEFORE you plonk down the cash to buy it.

1 Like

Hi
I do thank you very much for your help!I performed some commands that might be useful to find out what kind of wireless adapter I have and what kind of driver I need.When you will have time, could you take a look to the attachments?Thank you very much!Kindest regards!