Use same home directory on multiple Ubuntu-mate computers

Hi,
Im not a savy IT person, but I have been using Ubuntu-Mate on my Acer laptop for 2 years and on my PI3 for 1 year. I now have an additional laptop and I’m equally running Ubuntu-Mate 18:04 on it.

Here is what I want to achieve: Currently, I run around with my USB stick and stick it into the computer I’m working with. This is not very convenient especially for emails. Is there a possibility to put the “home directory folder” on an USB stick and each “tell” each time the computer to use the “home directory folder” from the USB.

Thank you.

Linux can mount a filesystem on top of another system. So, when you insert the USB stick, it is probably auto mounted under /media/(username)/(USBDeviceLabel). If you issue the command ‘$ mount --bind /media/(username)/(USBDeviceLabel) /home/(username)’ then your home directory will now point to the USB stick.

But, I’m going to tell you–this is a REALLY bad idea. If you ever use your original home directory on any machine, the hidden config files will be updated on the hard disk, not the USB. Likewise, some of those config files may be hardware specific, so when you plug in the USB stick’s version of the files, it won’t match the hardware of the machine.

Also, USB sticks are notoriously prone to failure or just losing them. How will you back up? If you lose the stick, you will lose all your settings. You will also be storing all your online passwords on the stick, perhaps in the Firefox profile. What if someone gets that?

A much better plan is to use rsync to copy the data onto the stick and off the stick each time you change machines. You could write a little script for that. Copy all your home directory, but exclude any hidden files ‘.*’ . There is also software called Unison to do exactly this function, as well. (I use rsync, so I can’t tell you any more about Unison).

Charles Nix

1 Like

Charles,