Vino Issues: Random Connectivity Problems from Windows 7 Laptop

I’m pretty new to Ubuntu-Mate / Pis, so bear with me in all this…

I’m running Ubuntu-Mate on a Raspberry Pi 3 (Pi3) and I manage it with Vino (on the Pi3) and the TightVNC Viewer on my Windows 7 laptop. The Pi3 is in my kitchen and I use it to stream music. That’s all. The only issue is that I’m trying to create a headless system with the Pi3: No monitor, no mouse or keyboard, etc.–it all needs to be maintained via remote control. That’s where the Windows 7 TightVNC Viewer comes in and when it works, it works well.

As a side note, I was using Raspbian at one point and while it was okay, I personally found it to have way too many issues. I love Ubuntu-Mate, though. It’s very user-friendly and seems to have it’s stuff together much better than Raspbian.

Anyway, here’s my problem: TightVNC (Vino) on the Pi3 works splendidly up to the sporadic moment(s) where I can’t connect to it with the TightVNC Viewer from the Windows 7 laptop. It’s a very strange issue: It will work fine for awhile and then suddenly, out of nowhere and in no discernible amount of time, just start preventing me from controlling it with the TightVNC Viewer. It’s at this point where I’m always forced to unplug the Pi3 in my kitchen from its wall socket and then plug it back in just to get it back to a point where I can control it. During these sporadic moments, the TightVNC Viewer will try to connect to it from the Windows 7 laptop but after a few seconds, a small window eventually pops up with the following information:

Error in TightVNC Viewer: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.

If I try to connect after that, I just keep getting the same error popup with no connection.