Want to help Ubuntu-MATE project

Hello, I was a Windows admin and later a systems architect for a Washington Mutual bank, US bank that went bankrupt in 2008. When I was laid off in Dec. 2009 I took a trip to South East Asia and fell in love with the place. I ended up staying for 5 years. When I came back to America I tried to get back into the tech market. But with technologies changing, my Windows skills a bit rusty and more using Azure and AWS etc… I was a bit behind. I have tried to get back into the job market but I haven’t been interviewing well over the past couple years, choking on things I have done 1000’s of times.
Anyway, I started in computers as a hobby and I guess that I am back to my roots. I would love to help the Ubuntu-MATE project out, but I can’t code to save my life or even my poor cats life.
So, what can an ex-Windows admin with basic Linux/UNIX skills do to help out Ubuntu-MATE? I already give money which I don’t have a lot of since I do manual labor. Who do we approach, Whimpy? He seems like he has enough on his plate, he doesn’t need to help me help mate :slight_smile:

If Ubuntu-MATE doesn’t have need of someone with no skills :frowning: where else in the open source community should I look?

Thanks in advance,
Andamo

1 Like

@andamo - Ubuntu MATE definitely wants your help! You don’t need to code, but if you want to learn, that would also be awesome!

You lived abroad and came back. Did you speak other languages while there? Could you help with translations? That’s always necessary too! We use Transifex for translations.

Just using the system and reporting any bugs, issues, or even missing features is very helpful. Since you have some admin chops, you are probably able to describe bugs in a way that developers can understand. As you guessed correctly, Wimpy had plenty on his plate, so anything to removes guesswork will be very much appreciated. Developers will love you for that too :wink: