Weak wifi - Wifi signal suddenly too weak to be reliable

Hi folks,

I have been enjoying Ubuntu Mate for a couple of years now and for the past year it's been trouble free (I had some issues when I got started and those seem to have cleared up as updates came along to address them).

Recently, the wifi signal on my Dell Inspiron 15 has gotten very weak. I had this issue before and learned that I could turn off Power Management, which I did and the wifi signal instantly jumped up and all was well. I noticed that the wifi signal had again become weak and I checked the status of Power Management and I saw that it was back on. I figured a recent update probably reset something so I turned it off again, but this time my wifi signal did not jump up like it did before. It's as though Power Management is not really getting turned off even though it says it is.

This laptop is the only wireless device in my home that has an issue with a weak signal, so I'm thinking it's not my router (every other device works fine from anywhere in the house, like this laptop used to).

Here's what I'm seeing when I look at iwconfig...

nmboutin@nmboutin-Inspiron-3558:~$ iwconfig
wlp6s0 IEEE 802.11 ESSID:"surveillance van"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: B0:39:56:20:3D:12
Bit Rate=28.9 Mb/s Tx-Power=22 dBm
Retry short limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=35/70 Signal level=-75 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:19 Invalid misc:980 Missed beacon:0

lo no wireless extensions.

enp7s0 no wireless extensions.

This is the signal quality I have sitting 10 feet from my router. :frowning_face:
I'm hoping somebody here will know what could be causing this issue and offer a solution.

Thank you in advance to any help.

--neal

1 Like

Hi I am on a tower so can not claim to be an expert but some wifi drops relate to too many other users/neighbours on the same frequency.