Whatever happened to Object-Oriented Programming?

I recently purchased "Advanced Programming Methodologies" © 1989. In the preface it emphasized object-oriented programming. I have been using Smalltalk since 1979. In one company my boss brought a copy of Business Week magazine with a cover on Object-Oriented programming into my office. He said that it sounded like a really good idea. I agreed with him and told him, "That is why we switched to it two years ago".

After the hoopla, what happened?

I know that there are skills and abilities. Typing is a skill. Perfect pitch is an ability. Skills can be taught. In my first programming course, Dr. Allan J. Perlis stressed that programmers need vision, crystal clear thought, and attention to detail. He never mentioned abstraction or creativity.

Abstraction is the key to Object-Oriented Programming. I believe it is an ability, not a skill.

I have read about "object-oriented programming" in Python, but nothing on abstractions such as a Collection in Python. They are still using address calculations to simulate Arrays. They have hacked C structures to simulate some features of Object-Oriented programming such as inheritance. They also simulate some features of Functional Programming. But the underlying paradigm still looks like C programming.

What would Ubuntu look like if it was based on Object-Oriented programming?

Which languages would you consider to be real OO ?
When it comes down to OO I don't care much about polymorphism or inheritance.
On the other hand, I do care more about encapsulation and messagepassing (both synchronous and asynchronous) and parallel processing based on those two properties.

The whole idea is interesting, let's see what we have:
Ubuntu-MATE (mate) /Xubuntu (xfce) -> GTK2/3 (Gobject on C which is a-kind-of-OO-hack )
Lubuntu (lxde)-> Qt ( C++ a bit more OO than C )
Ubuntu (gnome) -> GTK3 + javascript(?)
Kubuntu (kde) -> Qt + kdelibs
Bodhi (e17) - > e17libs ( C )