Why do you use Linux? And why did you choose Ubuntu MATE?

Just wondering why everyone else uses Linux and Ubuntu MATE?

I have been using it off and on for 15 years, but never as dedicated to it as I have been now. I recently went back to school and I’m taking a Intro to Linux class. Where 99% of the time we are in the terminal. It has helped me get over my “fear” of messing stuff up and having more of an understanding of how Linux works. It is also my favorite class this semester. The instructor even helped me with some fstab issues I was having on my home machine :D.

So because of that class I am using my older machine to run Linux while my newer machine runs Windows 10 as a file / Plex server. Linux has changed so much over the years and the community is great to learn from.

The reason I am running Ubuntu MATE is because Debian crashes X11 all the time on this computer. Couldn’t figure it out so I tried Ubuntu. Ubuntu worked great, no crashes. I tried Lubuntu and then vanilla Ubuntu, but they weren’t right. Then I found MATE, perfect for features and lightweight enough for my machine.

Thank you devs for working on this great distro. Keep up the good work

26 Likes

I use Linux because I’m a control freak when it comes to my computers.
I use Ubuntu MATE specifically because:

• It matches my workflow
  • Ubuntu has the biggest community so documentation can be obtained easily
  • Ubuntu MATE is an official Ubuntu derivative, which means I can use the Ubuntu support channels when I’ve got a problem, which I couldn’t do if I was running something like Mint.
14 Likes

It will be the same for me, and ouroumov resumed those points better as i could do.