Xrandr and compiz crashes desktop

if i have my window manager set to marco, i can use xrandr and setup my screen resolution with no problems, than i can switch to compiz and everything is fine with the new resolution i have set.

But if i have my window manager set to compiz and i do the xrandr command to set my resolution my desktop goes all wacko with distorted colors and i can’t do nothing.

i made a script and added it to startup programs to automatically set my resolution when the computer boots up. and everything is fine if i’m using marco as my window manager. but video’s have a screen tearing effect when i use marco.

so so far the only way i can run compiz with my set resolution is to first load carco, run xrandr and set my resolution then go back and select compiz.

i am a noob to linux so does anyone have a way or script i can run to fix this problem and have it boot up with my resolution settings and compiz without crashing the desktop?

I am running ubuntu mate 15.04 and my video card is asus eah4850/1gb

marco --replace
wait 5
xrandr -s 1024x768 (or whatever you want your resolution to be)
wait 5
compiz --replace

tried it and still getting same results

i had to change wait 5 to sleep 5 for it to work tho, but still same results

Ah yeah…sorry, should have been sleep 5.

Not sure what it is that is not working given your described problem and current solution.

That is to say, unless I have misunderstood, you currently:

switch to marco

reset the resolution

switch to compiz

The script I have offered simply automates all of that

So I am at a loss now…sorry

i have to create my resolution mode since when i go in monitors it says unknow monitor and max res is 1024x768
so should this work?

#!/bin/bash
marco --replace
wait 5
xrandr --newmode “1280x768_60.00” 79.50 1280 1344 1472 1664 768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA-0 “1280x768_60.00”
xrandr -s 1280x768
wait 5
compiz --replace

forgot the #!/bin/bash