Computer too slow after installing MATE for 48 hours

Hello guys,

I installed Ubuntu MATE 18.04 and it looks great and attractive as an interface more than Ubuntu 18.04 (for me ) .

But the performance is surprisingly too slow. My laptop is not bad and did not use to be like that. I mean it's slow while scrolling in a window, opening a folder with 500 files for example, or selecting a large number of files for copying to another place the system becomes unresponsive and very slow, opening a media file with vlc or totem alongside with firefox. and many scenarios.

Do you have any tips for that , any tweaking to make it faster , or system configurations ?
Please note that I am not an expert linux user when helping me .

I attached my system specs with this thread .

Thank you in Advance

Hello whyalwaysfadi

Looking at the screenshot you provided I guess you have a spinning hard drive. If this is the case, replacing it with an SSD drive will probably give you the single greatest gain in "user-apparent-reaction-time". If you can increase the RAM to 8GB that might help too. :slightly_smiling_face:

Hello, @whyalwaysfadi,
Provided that you notice slowdown on bulk operations the possible reason might be the default level of swappiness.
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SwapFaq#What_is_swappiness_and_how_do_I_change_it.3F

Regards,
Gene

I got this output:

admin-fadi@adminfadi-HP-Notebook:~$ cat /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
admin-fadi@adminfadi-HP-Notebook:~$ gksudo gedit /etc/sysctl.conf

Command 'gksudo' not found, did you mean:

command 'gfsudo' from deb gfarm-client

Try: sudo apt install

But I think my hardware is not too bad ..

Let me cite:
The default setting in Ubuntu is swappiness=60. Reducing the default value of swappiness will probably improve overall performance for a typical Ubuntu desktop installation. A value of swappiness=10 is recommended, but feel free to experiment.

Feel free to use sudo pluma /etc/sysctl.conf