Desktop Layout in Welcome?

Hi,
I'm playing around with 17.10 alpha 1 and I love the global menu, HUD and the way you can combine the menus.
Go to Mate-Tweak -> Panels --- Stop!!!
A total newbie doesn't know anything about Mate-Tweak.
So, wouldn't it be great to have a button in Welcome for the layouts.
The only thing that must happen by clicking the button is that Mate-Tweak opens with the panel tab.
I think this should be not so much effort, but it would be a great effect.
And when you can choose the layout from Welcome a lot of default layout discussion becomes unnecessary.
I've not wrote code, but I "gimped" what I mean.
What do you think about that?

6 Likes

I advocated for this idea in the past. First-time system setup, panel layout and preferences should be a thing there. If nothing else have a button that executes MATE Tweak and have a basic primer in Welcome for what it all means.

If the two were coded hand-in-hand, similar to the software boutique then mate-tweak can be excised and ubuntu-mate-welcome would absorb its functionality.

5 Likes

I agree that Welcome should offer to choose the layout, and have this work with MATE Tweak in the background.

I am thinking this should be part of first time wizard on first boot/login. Getting Started → Customisation does already mention and provide a link that opens MATE Tweak for changing the user interface.

5 Likes

14 posts were split to a new topic: Can Ubuntu MATE consider dropping unnecessary software?

I’m a bit surprised that Welcome is now a launcher on all the pre-defined panel layouts that can be accessed via Mate-tweak. I would like to remove it from the System subsection of the global menu (it’s also there on 16.04).

You can remove it right? I know I can remove the welcome launcher from the panel…

Yeah, it’s no problem. I like the welcome screen but I have no use for it. Uninstalling it went fine (at first I thought it might pull ubuntu-mate-desktop as a dependency).