DNS Probe Possible - DNS address could not be found

Hi. I'm new to Ubuntu Mate and I am not able to connect to internet anymore ( with any browser), probably caused by Proton VPN uninstall. My browsers can't connect ( DNS Probe Possible error) So I re-installed Proton, but it didn't solved the problem. I've succeeded to connect to the web by changing my name server address to 8.8.8.8 in the file: etc\resolv.conf - except that Ubuntu rewrote that modification, Now the etc/resolv.conf does not exist anymore and has been renamed: resolv.conf.d and there is no nameserver address inside that folder; Only 3 files: Base, Head and Tail - no place to input nameserver 8.8.8.8 I can't either find no other place to input that nameserver address on Ubuntu Mate, The only browser that can connect is Thor (VPN). I'm on wired internet.

Does someone has a permanent solution for that annoying problem?

Not sure if this helps, but I had DNS issues after upgrading to 22.04. I fixed the issue with the following two commands:

$ sudo rm -f /etc/resolv.conf
$ sudo ln -s /run/systemd/resolve/resolv.conf /etc/resolv.conf

More explanation can be found [here.](https://ubuntu-mate.community/t/upgrade-to-22-04-broke-dns/26205)
1 Like

Hi jaybo! Thank you for your answer. Unfortunately these two commands didn't do anything. I found that if I change my iPv4 address to 8.8.8.8 , that could solve the DNS problem. Does someone knows how to do that on Ubuntu Mate 22.04?

Hi, @Abraxus :slight_smile:

You wrote:

I suggest that you check the following discussion here in the Ubuntu MATE Community discussion forums, started by @alpinejohn a few months ago (on 22 January 2023):

... and, specifically, read the following answer in that topic posted by @tkn (thom) that I think will solve your issue of setting up a network connection in Ubuntu MATE to use a specific DNS Server IP address:

I hope this helps :slight_smile:

2 Likes