First time Linux user's first impressions on UbuntuMATE

Hello! my name is Aniket.A and this is my first time I am using Linux.
I was really tired of using Windows operating system for a long long time and finally decided to switch to Linux, but was very confused about which distribution to chose from, since there are so many Linux distributions on the internet.

The main reason I chose UbuntuMATE because, to me it was way more simple, easy to use Linux distribution, especially for a first time user like me who absolutely had no idea about Linux OS.
At first, I felt a little bit uncomfortable with the UbuntuMATE since this the first time I am actually running it on my laptop as the main OS, and being used to to click and install, instead of using terminal, but eventually as the time passed on, I prettey much got used to it in such a less time and I am thoroughly ENJOYING IT!.

It also packs a lot of features which makes it unique and provides a lot of functionality. My system is now performing significantly better with the exceptions of all those time consuming, tedious driver installations.
I downloaded the Nvidia Graphics Driver without any issues or problems. Thank you UbuntuMATE Developers for creating such a wonderful and powerful operation system which is accessible to anyone around the globe.

:gem: :slight_smile: :heart:
9 Likes

Welcome to the community Aniket!

Cheers,
Tim

2 Likes

Hi Aniket,

Welcome aboard! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hello and welcome :slight_smile:

Have you been to our tutorial forum? Lots of good information there. Check it out.

Ubuntu beginners guide, complete how to install and run first update

2 Likes

Welcome, also a newbie linux user here. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Actually, installing software by using a terminal or by using Synaptic, from a known repository is much easier and safer that going to unknown websites and hunting for the desired software, my friend.

1 Like

Greeting @Egghead and welcome to the forum!. :smiley: