Good, low-requirement video editing software?

Before I installed Ubuntu MATE on this old laptop, I used Windows Movie Maker (Windows XP version) a few times, and I kinda liked it. Now I’m looking for a similar experience (low system requirements, simple to use, etc.) on Linux. I am a beginner video editor so I don’t need an HD editor, SD is fine. It should require <1 GB of RAM, work on an approximately 1.8 GHz processor, be able to use OpenGL 1.4, basically everything you expect from an old PC. :slightly_smiling:

1 Like

Kdenlive might be a good choice although I have no idea what system resources it may use.

Kdenlive is a non-linear video editing suite, which supports DV, HDV and many more formats. Its main features are:

• Guides and marker for organizing timelines
  • Copy and paste support for clips, effects and transitions
  • Real time changes
  • FireWire and Video4Linux capture
  • Screen grabbing
  • Exporting to any by FFMPEG supported format

To install via the terminal (Ctrl + Alt + t):

sudo apt-get install kdenlive

:smiley:

From the Kdenlive website:

Kdenlive is reported to work on recent computers, with at least:

32bits or 64bits computers with a modern Processor (AMD64 or Intel mono/dual core systems).

A fast hard disc with more that 20Gb of free disc space.

A firewire interface for camcorder capture.

At least 1Gb of RAM.

Screen size : 1024x768 or more.

It looks like I have most of the requirements (except firewire), but I’d like to know what OpenGL it uses, because my graphics card is very old and only supports up to OpenGL 1.4.

There’s also OpenShot 1.4 and Pitivi that may also suit your needs.

OpenShot 1.x is a bit buggy in that it tends to crash… a lot. :expressionless: That’ll be fixed with v2.0 (currently in beta), but neither state any minimum requirements. It depends on how resource hungry the files are, so it may actually crash less (or not at all) if the files are SD.