Nanny - parental control for ubuntu mate - a fork, perhaps?

Hallo the development team

I believe there was a package called nanny, which provided a"parental control GUI". It was removed from the ubuntu repositories a couple of years ago as far as I know. However, I heard that it lived on at the Gnome project. IF ubuntu mate does not have an equivalent package, would this be a candidate for a fork (or whatever)? If we want to help parents with younger children encourage their children to use linux this could be a worthwhile project.

Will I help? I’m not a programmer, so apart from launching the idea I don’t think that I can contribute anything of value.

I’ve just upgraded a Macbook Pro 6,2 to ubuntu mate 15.04 - I’m really impressed. Well done to all involved!

Having come across this situation before there are two major problems:

• Linux advocates tend to be very much against censorship and
    similar concepts, so there are few solutions available for the platform;

• The one you point to is years out-of-date, as its GitHub entry shows.

I have found that OpenDNS is a neat solution which doesn’t require any extra software; it can be configured to block any combination of dozens of page topics.

I agree with prettty much everything you said @palourie but . . .

I’d suggest OpenNIC instead because OpenDNS is riddled with Ads and Portal Captures. Also as of only about a week ago, Cisco announced they are buying OpenDNS.

I currently use OpenDNS at home because I know how to configure dnsmasq to override the ad injection that @MichaelTunnell mentioned.

That said, I have a young family and the old GNOME Nanny was pretty amazing. I have considered porting it to MATE, which is a tonne of work, but time is the enemy :cry:

I’d love for someone to port Nanny to MATE.

1 Like

The ads have been removed (apparently - I don’t recall ever seeing one) …

That said, OpenNIC is very fast, but it doesn’t appear to offer filtering.