Old user - same old issues

Using the latest Ubuntu Mate 20.10.
For about 95% I am happy. This is good since I've been using Linux since 1996 with a lot of good and poor distros. Ubuntu has pretty much been a stalwart of the system for most of this time.
One of my thoughts about the system bug reporting mechanism is that it doesn't work or at least doesn't appear to work.
The reason I say this is because both laptops I have it installed upon start with the same warning message that Ubuntu has had a system crash and do I want to send in the bug report.
This I have done many times and the message is still there after many installs of the system since 20.04 came about.
I wonder why these things are left hanging?
A second gripe rather than a thought is to do with poor follow up on fault reporting about install issues.
I have a seven year old Lenovo as one of my daily machines. At week one I dual booted the Windows install with Ultimate Edition Linux and Crunchbang Linux. Ultimate was starting to show development problems and was abandoned by me (shame) and apart from support for Crunchbang halting because the developers were departing, the system still worked without fault.
Now the thing is that both these systems recognised and worked with my Wireless card. Even before I bought the Lenovo operation of WiFi cards was becoming a standard part of every distro install but for some strange reason the Ubuntu developers have had difficulty getting to grips with sorting out the install image to incorporate the card for my machine into the final install.
Even today the Live Image I used to reinstall the system (20.10) on this seven year old laptop has the ability to employ 'Additional Drivers' app from the Menu and setup my WiFi card so that I can connect to the outside world before installing the system BUT it is absent from the actual system install.