SMB network drive never shows in Firefox file picker

Greetings,

I have installed the Samba and GVFS packages, the usual packages recommended for network drives. I can easily browse my NAS drive in the file manager under ‘Browse Network’ and I have created a shortcut to a folder located upon it in the file manager’s Bookmarks. But I have two problems:

1. When I try to save a file in Firefox the NAS never appears, even under “Other Locations.”

2. I can access a bookmarked NAS folder under the file picker in LibreOffice and GIMP, it is different in appearance from the Firefox file picker. But the root of the NAS drive does not appear in this file picker so I can only save to the bookmarked folder.

The first one is more serious, since I frequently save web content on my NAS, this is a bit of a hassle without it being in the file picker. Is it possible to fix this? How could I look about diagnosing the problem? I’m still learning my way with GNU/Linux but I’m not afraid to get my hands dirty with the terminal. I’d appreciate any help.

@Thranos: you may want to check 18.04 Caja doesn't see local network
and https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2384959

What I've done... taking into account my NAS is permanently on while I'm at home:

• installed gigolo via sudo apt-get install gigolo

• start gigolo from the menu or via MATE Terminal

• click Edit Bookmarks in Gigolo

• click Add and configure each share this way

When asked for a password for the USER_NAME enter the required password and choose to Remember forever.

• set up gigolo to start automatically when the PC start (open Control Center -> Startup Applications -> click the Add button => Name: Gigolo; Command: gigolo => click Save

Finally make Network Links visible for File Download (Firefox, Google Chrome) - for GTK 3.0:

• Open MATE Terminal and enter following commands (one by one):
    ls -d /run/user/$(id -u)/gvfs/*/
    pluma ~/.config/gtk-3.0/bookmarks