Ubuntu MATE 22.10 Kinetic Kudu is out!

Ubuntu MATE 22.10 is available now! This release is optimized :zap: thanks to some updates of the MATE Desktop and PipeWire being included :maté: Check out the release notes for all the details and get the download :dvd:

9 Likes

nobody wants to use an unstable version of ubuntu. stick to the lts versions folks, do you really wanna have to upgrade for 9 months, no, ya don't. heck, debian would be better because its lighter with the mate desktop and comes with no unwanted crapware like deja doup, rhythmbox, celuloid and the like

Saludos desde Venezuela a La Comunidad, Gracias por los aportes, en contacto.-

Some people use the unstable versions for testing for the next LTS release.

1 Like

Dear Frank,
I have Ubuntu MATE on my laptop installed for me by a friend. I see this update news. I am not knowledgeable about any of this coding or programming though am totally in awe of those that are! I am a photographer and have loaded up my archive onto this laptop. Will I have to clear it to instal this new update or will it not affect any of the files and folders??
I'm quite confused by how this all works but think it is brilliant, has been working very fast and I tell people about this quite regularly.
Thank you
Best regards
Emilie Selbourne [email protected]

If 22.10 is labeled "unstable" then the rest of the world shall be seen as under constant earthquake... I've been upgrading to any new version since my initial 17.04 entry to UM. No issue, nothing unstable. Exept for some small 'glitches' from time to time mainly user's (i.e. me) fault.
I'm glad that in this 22.10 upgrade Evolution didn't follow.
As to 'crapware'.... well... each their opinion. That is why there are more then one offering out there.

W

Given your current Ubuntu MATE setup is still supported (Meaning 20.04.5 or latest) then upgrading causes 0 data lost and all of your Documents, Pictures, Desktop etc files will be located identically.