Why I'm Heavily Considering Joining Team Green: Ubuntu MATE

Hey everyone,

I've recently become enamored with Ubuntu MATE and wrote an article about my past use of Linux and how Ubuntu MATE is checking all the boxes for me at the moment.

If you get a minute, check it out, and let me know which areas of the distribution I should explore next. It has now taken over my daily use laptop, a ThinkPad Edge E531, and might take over more of my machines in the future!

You can check out the article here.

Thanks for being such a wonderfully friendly and helpful community and obviously thank you to the development team for creating such a great operating system!

10 Likes

Nice write up! As a fellow Gnome 2.x fan I welcome you aboard the good ship Mate!

I'm glad the options are available to switch things out but I always find myself coming back to the "Traditional" desktop option. It's the best of all worlds for me.

1 Like

Hello Eric, I have been using Ubuntu maté for about four years and fell in love with this bone like you! Your writings describe completely the pleasure which I feel when the magic operates on old computers centrino duo fluid, esthetic and modern that of happiness

1 Like

I just read you article and i fully agree with you.. Ubuntu MATE is so intuitive and incredible easy to use. I have tried so many distro's and i always ends up, going back to my trusty Ubuntu MATE! - Guess i have to stop distro hopping, the grass is more green on MATE :smiley:

1 Like

Thanks everyone for the responses and checking out the article, I really appreciate it.