Wine application windows randomly disappear

Running MATE desktop 1.16.0 and having problems with a couple of WINE applications I use every day that MATE randomly “loses” the control window of the application as I switch virtual desktops. The application hasn’t crashed and is still running (via ps), but the window is gone and any amount of flipping back and forth, alt-tab, etc. won’t bring it back.

This is a MATE problem and happens to me nearly every day, but as it isn’t “reproducible” by a known series of steps, I don’t feel I can constructively submit it to the developers.

Any ideas??

Hi @highflux7,

I am not an expert on Wine, there is a new version out but seems to have a little problem, maybe you can try it out?:

Hi. Thanks for the suggestion!

It’s a Mate problem, as Wine 1.9 and the new 2.0 also show the same behavior. It has something to do with the way in which windows are handled but the complexity is way too deep for me to understand. There’s also a problem with X windows from remote displays, say one’s ssh’d to a remote machine with X forwarding enabled with the -X switch; such windows will misbehave by becoming sticky like they’ve been signaled to ‘always on top’ although they’re not. That, or the focus on the desktop will get screwed up for a bit-- either the remote X window will steal focus and not let go, or more often, the window will sit on top and never let you apply focus or minimize it, etc. Just something not right, but again, way beyond my understanding of what might be going wrong.

Ubuntu (vanilla) with gnome-session-fallback (instead of Mate) does not have these problems.

1 Like

Mate uses Marco window manager. Flashback uses Metacity WM.

Metacity will run in Mate, I have done this. May be worth a try.

metacity --replace &

https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1709792

and you do need to install metacity first :slight_smile:

1 Like