Scanner worked in 15.10 does not work in 16.04

Newbie here… I have been using Windows since 3.11 but recently got tired of the bloated
windows 10 and decided to give ubuntu another try…
tried numerous flavors but have settled on MATE…
I had 15.10 setup with everything working… including my Brother MFC295CN printer & scanner…
Upgraded to 16.04 and it still worked, print & scan… but some other things seemed messed up or missing
so I downloaded 16.04 and did a fresh install… bad idea in hindsight.
Installed the exact same drivers from brother site and now the printer works but the scanner is not found.
Removed and re-installed drivers… same thing…
Any ideas or is it a bug that will be fixed ?

This does sound like a driver problem, so I think you are on the right track with that. If everything was working in 15.10, then the drivers are out there that should work. Unfortunately, there is a lot of leg work involved with finding out which driver(especially when it’s an older driver and there is no record of it). I have noticed that Ubuntu MATE took a few reboots to get my graphics drivers sorted out after I updated today, so hopefully, if you sudo apt-get update then sudo apt-get upgrade, and reboot a few times, it will start ‘magically’ working again.

It took 5 reboots and some messing with the Nvidia driver software to get things sorted out for me.
I know graphics and printers are completely different beasts, but hopefully you will have just as easy a time getting your drivers going again.

Check in the System menu, Preferences, in the Hardware and check to see if the proprietary driver for your printer is there and has been turned off(or unchecked). That’s what happened when I updated. The system will sometimes reboot to its default drivers, and you will need to turn them back on and reboot again and maybe again.

Hope this was useful, even just so you know people are reading these.

Hi @repsolal,

have you checked out their website?: