Setting Goals for a new Linux user

Hi all. I am new to using linux. I would like to set some goals for myself while I am learning Ubuntu Mate. The problem is that I don’t know what goals that I should set for myself. This is why when I usually install any type of Linux, it just sits on my hard drive unused and a waste of space. I am now using it on my old Macbook as Ubuntu Mate runs nicely and I just want to spend time learning it.

I have already taught myself how to install packages through the terminal if they are in the repository. I think that I am using the correct terminology.

Next would be to install something that isn’t in the repository.

I want to learn things that I can do whether it is general personalization of Ubuntu Mate or more in depth stuff that I can do within the terminal. I would also like to learn bash. I am an intermediate c# scripter at the moment, so that will help with the logic of all of this.

Could you all suggest some goals? They don’t all have to be beginner goals. It would be great if you could do beginner, intermediate, advanced so that I have something to work towards. The only real goal I have set is to master using linux over time, but that is just so broad that I feel like I won’t know if I am making any real progress to this goal.

Thank you for reading.

3 Likes

This is awesome! I wish you the best in your journey to Linux mastery!

The first thing I would recommend is to just use Linux to replace whatever is it that you regularly do with a computer. I’ve been using Linux for almost two decades and I’ve only really had to load Windows in a VM is when a client needs me to debug a website in Internet Explorer :stuck_out_tongue: (I’ve never used a mac)

It might help if you tell us what you regularly use your computer for :slight_smile:. You mentioned C#, so install your IDE of choice and hack away as usual!